Women's Commission

Outstanding Women Awards and Distinguished Contributor Awards

The President's Commission on the Status of Women annually honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to improve the status of women. Categories for Outstanding Women include academic faculty, classified staff, graduate student, and undergraduate student. The Distinguished Contributor category may include male or female alumni, senior administrators, unclassified staff, non-academic faculty, major gift donors, and other individuals who have made a significant contribution to improving the status of women. To nominate an individual, please submit a completed nomination form; a vita, résumé, or summary of activities (two-page maximum); and two letters of support.



2007 Award Winners

Rupal Shah (graduate), Cindy Burke (undergrad), Helen Kirkland (Thea McCrary Award), Mrs. Marcia Barker, Dr. Robert C. Edwards (distinguished contributor), Patricia Layton (faculty), Martha Bridges (staff), and Syd Cross, Chair of the Women's Commission



Cindy Burke and Mrs. Marsha Barker, representing President Barker